Proposal for forage from the Assistant Quartermaster’s Office, December 1862

This proposal/ad appeared int he December 3rd, 1862 Louisville Daily Journal.

Proposal for Forage 12.3.1862 LDJ.png


This correspondence from the Official records shows the importance of an army having enough forage supplies.

HDQRS. SECOND BRIGADE, MARTIN’S CAVALRY DIVISION,
Unionville, Tenn., April 30, 1863–6 a.m.

Lieutenant-General Polk’s Chief of Staff:

I have the honor to report all quiet along my lines this morning. I would respectfully ask that the order to report every six hours be modified, as there is no place between here and Shelbyville where a courier station can be kept up, for want of forage. Should any movement of the enemy take place, I will report every two hours, or even at shorter intervals.

I think that the enemy will send out to-morrow morning a heavy foraging party from Triune toward College Grove. Such I infer from the large number of wagons concentrating about the former place.

Brigadier-General [Major-General] Schofield commanded the expedition we drove back yesterday. It consisted of about 500 mounted men and some artillery. The latter was not brought into action, but fell back almost immediately to Triune.

If the lieutenant-general commanding will send me two regiments of infantry, with two days’ rations, to report here as soon as possible, I will be able to concentrate my command on the [upper] pike, and, leaving the infantry to guard this road, where the enemy will come to forage, I can get into his rear and capture his wagons. My line of vedettes is too long to concentrate my command for an offensive movement, as it will leave one or other of the pikes with a weak guard. The enemy will bring, as he generally does, about one regiment of infantry with his cavalry, and, perhaps, a section of artillery.

I remain, very respectfully, your obedient servant,

LAWRENCE W. ORTON,(*)

Colonel, Comdg. Second Brigade, Martin’s Division of Cavalry.
—–

O.R.– SERIES I–VOLUME XXIII/2 [S# 35]

Correspondence, Orders, And Returns Relating To Operations In Kentucky, Middle And East Tennessee, North Alabama, And Southwest Virginia, From January 21 To August 10, 1863.

CONFEDERATE CORRESPONDENCE. ETC.–#8

Page 804

Leave a Reply

